Self-Assessment

Read the following statements and score each one according to how true or false you believe it is about you. To get an accurate picture of yourself, consider what is true about you (not what you want to be true). Remember, there are no right or wrong answers. Assign each statement a number from 0 to 10, as follows:

Step 1

Totally false 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Totally true

1.__10__I control how successful I will be.

  1. _0___I’m not sure why I’m in college.
  2. __7__I spend most of my time doing important things.
  3. __7__When I encounter a challenging problem, I try to solve it by myself.
  4. _3___When I get off course from my goals and dreams, I realize it right away.
  5. __3__I’m not sure how I learn best.
  6. __5__Whether I’m happy or not depends mostly on me.
  7. __0__I’ll truly accept myself only after I eliminate my faults and weaknesses.
  8. __0__Forces out of my control (such as poor teaching) are the cause of low grades receive in school.
  9. __10__I place great value on getting my college degree.
  10. __1__I don’t need to write things down because I can remember what I need to do.
  11. __6__I have a network of people in my life that I can count on for help.
  12. __5__If I have habits that hinder my success, I’m not sure what they are.
  13. __4__When I don’t like the way an instructor teaches, I know how to learn the subject anyway.
  14. _8___When I get very angry, sad, or afraid, I do or say things that create a problem for me.
  15. __3__When I think about performing an upcoming challenge (such as taking a test), I usually see myself doing well.
  16. __7__When I have a problem, I take positive actions to find a solution.
  17. __8__I don’t know how to set effective short-term and long-term goals.
  18. __8__I am organized.
  19. __9__When I take a difficult course in school, I study alone.
  20. __8__I’m aware of beliefs I have that hinder my success.
  21. __3__I’m not sure how to think critically and analytically about complex topics.
  22. __5__When choosing between doing an important school assignment or something really fun, I do the school assignment.
  23. __3__I break promises that I make to myself or to others.
  24. __0__I make poor choices that keep me from getting what I really want in life.
  25. __9__I expect to do well in my college classes.
  26. __3__I lack self-discipline.
  27. __8__I listen carefully when other people are talking.
  28. __0__I’m stuck with any habits of mine that hinder my success.
  29. __7__When I face a disappointment (such as failing a test), I ask myself, “What lesson can I learn here?”
  30. __5__I often feel bored, anxious, or depressed.
  31. __5__I feel just as worthwhile as any other person.
  32. __0__Forces outside of me (such as luck or other people) control how successful I will be.
  33. __10__College is an important step on the way to accomplishing my goals and dreams.
  34. __3__I spend most of my time doing unimportant things.
  35. __5__When I encounter a challenging problem, I ask for help.
  36. __4__I can be off course from my goals and dreams for quite a while without realizing it.
  37. __8__I know how I learn best.
  38. __0__My happiness depends mostly on what’s happened to me lately.
  39. __8__I accept myself just as I am, even with my faults and weaknesses.
  40. __10__I am the cause of low grades I receive in school.
  41. __2__If I lose my motivation in college, I don’t know how I’ll get it back.
  42. __0__I have a written self-management system that helps me get important things done on time.
  43. __5__I know very few people whom I can count on for help.
  44. __8__I’m aware of the habits I have that hinder my success.
  45. __2__If I don’t like the way an instructor teaches, I’ll probably do poorly in the course.
  46. __4__When I’m very angry, sad, or afraid, I know how to manage my emotions so I don’t do anything I’ll regret later.
  47. __5__When I think about performing an upcoming challenge (such as taking a test), I usu­ally see myself doing poorly.
  48. __3__When I have a problem, I complain, blame others, or make excuses.
  49. __6__I know how to set effective short-term and long-term goals.
  50. __2__I am disorganized. I
  51. __4__When I take a difficult course in school, I find a study partner or join a study group.
  52. __2__I’m unaware of beliefs I have that hinder my success.
  53. _7___I know how to think critically and analytically about complex topics.
  54. __7__I often feel happy and fully alive.
  55. __8__I keep promises that I make to myself or to others.
  56. __7__When I have an important choice to make, I use a decision-making process that analyzes possible options and their likely outcomes.
  57. __0__I don’t expect to do well in my college classes.
  58. __8__I am a self-disciplined person.
  59. __7__I get distracted easily when other people are talking.
  60. __5__ know how to change habits of mine that hinder my success.
  61. __5__When I face a disappointment (such as failing a test), I feel pretty helpless.
  62. ___5_When choosing between doing an important school assignment or something really fun, I usually do something fun.
  63. ___8_I feel less worthy than other people.

Transfer your scores to the scoring sheets on the next page. For each of the eight areas, total your scores in columns A and B. Then total your final scores as shown in the sample on the next page.

 

Self-Assessment Scoring Sheet

Choices of Successful Students

Successful Students…                                         Struggling Students…

accept personal responsibility, seeing themselves as the primary cause of their outcomes and experiences. see themselves as victims, believing what happens to them is determined primarily by external forces such as fate, luck, and

powerful others.

discover self-motivation, finding purpose in their lives by discovering personally meaningful goals and dreams. have difficulty sustaining motivation, often feeling depressed, frustrated, and/or resentful about a lack of direction in their lives.
master self-management, consistently planning and taking purposeful actions in pursuit of their goals and dreams. seldom identify specific actions needed to accomplish a desired outcome, and when they do, they tend to procrastinate.
employ interdependence, building mutually supportive relationships that help them achieve their goals and dreams (while helping others do the same). are solitary, seldom requesting, even rejecting, offers of assistance from those who could help.
gain self-awareness, consciously employing behaviors, beliefs, and attitudes that keep them on course. make important choices unconsciously, being directed by self-

sabotaging habits and outdated life scripts.

adopt lifelong learning, finding valuable lessons and wisdom in

nearly every experience they have.

resist learning new ideas and skills, viewing learning as fearful

or boring rather than as mental play.

develop emotional intelligence, effectively managing their emotions in support of their goals and dreams. live at the mercy of strong emotions such as anger, depression, anxiety, or a need for instant gratification.
believe in themselves, seeing themselves as capable, lovable,

and unconditionally worthy human beings.

doubt their competence and personal value, feeling inadequate to create their desired outcomes and experiences.

INTERPRETING YOUR SCORES

A score of …

0-39        Indicates an area where your choices will seldom keep you on course.

40-63        Indicates an area where your choices will sometimes keep you on course.

64-80        Indicates an area where your choices will usually keep you on course.

Step 2

___71__ 1. Accepting personal responsibility

___65__ 2. Discovering self-motivation

___54__ 3. Mastering self-management

___35__ 4. Employing interdependence

___53__ 5. Gaining self-awareness

__53___ 6. Adopting lifelong learning

___43__ 7. Emotional Intelligence

__48___ 8. Believing in myself

Step 3

By doing the self-assessment, I learned that I ….”

Last semester, I had taken a leadership class and we talked a lot about accepting personal responsibility and motivation. It is probably because of that class that my paradigm shifted so greatly in those areas. I do believe those top 1,2, and, 3 are great qualities that need to be present in a leader. It made me really happy to see that I accept personal responsibility so well, it took a lot of work for me to get there, but I’m glad I did. As far as discovering self-motivation, I feel like this is something that I have had to do for myself throughout the course of my life. In fact, my biggest motivator is proving people wrong. That motivates me to make sure I succeed in what ever path or goal I choose.

Step 4

By doing the self-assessment, I learned that I really need to work on employing Interdependence. I was my lowest of all of the scores. I thought this was something that I was at least ok at, but now I am aware and will start to look more into strengthening that “weakness”. It seems to be the only on below the 40 mark next to believing in my self. I find it very interesting that I do well at self-motivation, but lack in believing in myself. You would think that the two would be closely intertwined. Such as the quote, “In order to succeed, we must first believe we can”. I think that I have struggled more with interdependence because of the way I grew up. Now, I don’t believe that the way you grew up makes you who you are, but I do believe that there are things you may need to change about yourself because of the way you grew up. I always had to be the one to do things for myself. With a power driven mother and an alcoholic father, there wasn’t much availability in asking for help.

